Picture taking 101

5 replies [Last post]
MMM's picture
MMM

Does anyone have any advice for taking pictures with a digital camera in dark lighting like in a club or outside that don't turn out blurry or dark or super blown out looking from the flash. I know it's possible because I see them but all my pics are either blurry or totally over lit when I use a flash? I'm a total beginner and I don't know much about taking pictures but I'd like to learn. Thanks.

"Here to do great things."

Herb's picture
Herb
Performance Photos

Matt-Taking performance photos is way trickier than it seems, as far as I'm concerned. Lighting is usually very dim and not only that can vary inch by inch from blazing to black. While there may be some simple things you can do to improve things--depending on your camera and how you have it set--in the long run if you are shooting based on one of the camera's auto modes, you will probably need to learn how to use the manual settings and experiment with those. Because lighting for performances is usually so wacky, the camera's meter often comes up with some sort of average reading that doesn't really give you an exposure that you want--although it's possible to take the metered reading as a starting point and then tweak it from there in the manual settings.

Basically you are trying to balance out your use of shutter speed, aperture, and iso (and, if necessary, flash) to get the best possible image--which usually means getting enough light. However there are tradeoffs whereby pushing the limits of those settings will cost you in other ways. For example, slowing down the shutter speed will give you a brighter exposure, but can cause blurriness. Cranking up the iso will give you better sensitivity but also give you more digital noise. I try not to use flash when possible because it overrides the natural look of the stage, but sometimes you need it. It's helpful if your camera allows you to set the intensity of the flash.